Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
  • Decrease font size
  • Reset font size to default
  • Increase font size

Westgerman Prostate Center
Klinik am Ring
Hohenstaufenring 28
D-50674 Cologne, Germany

Fon.: +49-221-92424-470
Fax:  +49-221-92424-460
info@wpz-koeln.de

Home Cooperations International Prostate Cancer Group

International Prostate Cancer Group

PDF Print E-mail
The International Prostate Cancer Group, which was founded through the association of prostate cancer experts from the United States and Europe, has defined its mission: to optimize quality treatment and support services for patients with prostate cancer. The basis are scientific collaboration, information exchange, and patient consultation. The international association was founded by the Directors of the West German Prostate Center and the New York Prostate Cancer Center In June of 2007.

At the center of this cooperation is the coordination and implementation of joined research projects in the area of diagnosis and therapy of prostate cancer, patient consultation, and the continuing education and training for physicians.

Since Guy´s & St. Thomas Hospitals in London and the Urological University Clinic in Basel joined the association in 2008, the IPG is now one research association comprised of the four international institutions with the highest caseload in the area of prostate diseases.

The IPG utilized an international network to take part in scientific studies, and to discuss current research results on a transnational basis. The International Prostate Cancer Group aims to transpose new medical findings into clicincal practice according to today’s needs and demands.

Currently a vast number of effective and proven therapy options for the treatment of prostate cancer are developing. The IPG continuously analyzes and critically compares new and innovative therapies with existing standard therapies.

This means that patients with prostate cancer in Germany and in foreign countries have the opportunity to utilize the medical knowledge of the experts, and to obtain an independent second opinion.

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
  • Decrease font size
  • Reset font size to default
  • Increase font size

Westdeutsches Prostatazentrum
Klinik am Ring
Hohenstaufenring 28
50674 Köln

Tel.: 0221-92424-470
Fax: 0221-92424-460

info@wpz-koeln.de
Home Kooperationen International Prostate Cancer Group

International Prostate Cancer Group

PDF Drucken E-Mail

Der Zusammenschluss von Prostatakrebs-Spezialisten aus den USA und Europa zur „International Prostate Cancer Group“ hat zum Ziel durch wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit, Informationsaustausch und Patientenberatung die Qualität der Prostatakrebsbehandlung zu optimieren. Im Juni 2007 gründeten die Leiter des Westdeutschen Prostatazentrums und des New York Prostate Cancer Centers den internationalen Verbund.

Im Vordergrund der Kooperation stehen die Koordination und Durchführung gemeinsamer Forschungsprojekte auf dem Gebiet der Diagnose und Therapie von Prostatakrebs, die Beratung von Patienten und die Fortbildung von Ärzten.

Mit der zusätzlichen Aufnahme des Guy´s & St. Thomas Hospitals in London und der Urologischen Universitätsklinik Basel im Jahre 2008 haben sich in der IPG nun vier der international fallstärksten Spezialeinrichtungen für Prostataerkrankungen in einem Forschungsverbund zusammengeschlossen.

Die IPG nutzt ein internationales Netzwerk, um länderübergreifende wissenschaftliche Studien durchzuführen und aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse gemeinsam zu diskutieren. Ziel der International Prostate Cancer Group ist es, neue medizinische Erkenntnisse zeitnah in die Praxis umzusetzen.

Heute eröffnet sich eine Vielzahl effektiver und erprobter Therapiemöglichkeiten für die Behandlung des Prostatakarzinoms. Neue und innovative Therapien werden ständig sorgfältig überprüft und kritisch mit vorhandenen Standardtherapien verglichen.

Patienten mit Prostatakrebs aus dem In- und Ausland haben die Möglichkeit, das medizinische Wissen der Experten zu nutzen und sich eine kompetente und unabhängige Zweitmeinung einzuholen.